You don’t always have to head straight to the squat rack to get a decent leg workout.

There are so many squat, lunge and deadlift variations that you can do without a barbell or even without any weight at all.

Check out my “no barbell” workout below.

SQUAT/CURTSY LUNGE COMBINATION – 3 sets to fatigue

Here I held a 10kg weight plate but dumbbells could also be used (or stick with your own body weight)

SPLIT SQUATS – 3 sets to fatigue

I used a 5kg weight plate because my balance was atrocious, I’m working on my technique but I know I’m not quite there yet. Again, a dumbbell could be used or bodyweight.

LEG EXTENSIONS 25KG – 3 sets of 12
We have an attachment on our bench for these but another option is to hold a dumbbell between your feet while sitting on a bench and lift them in the same motion.

ROMANIAN DEADLIFT – 3 sets of 10
Although usually done with a barbell, they can also be done with dumbbells, they’re just as effective.

Done! 

It’s amazing how tired I felt after doing this workout. My muscles feel like they’ve worked super hard, probably because I’m so used to doing weighted squats and deadlifts. It pays to mix your workouts up every now and then. 


