Foam Rolling – do or don’t?

In my last post I mentioned that I’d bought a foam roller. Well today I put it to the test.

I’ve read a few articles about when you should foam roll, some say before a workout, others say after and then others say to relieve muscle soreness/tightness as and when needed.

I did leg day two days ago and I have to admit, today I woke up in a lot of pain. My hamstrings always get sore, not so much my quads.

I decided to use my foam roller to see if it would help relieve this pain and it hurt so bad! Just having something against my hamstrings was painful enough but then slowly rolling my leg over it was ridiculous! I persevered.

Amazingly, I can now pick items up off the floor!
Okay, it still hurts to pick things up off the floor but my hamstrings are not as tight which make the pain less – it’s not a miracle cure for DOMS.

I feel like I should have done foam rolling straight after leg day and the day after, maybe DOMS wouldn’t be so bad. So that’s what I will do from now on.

I always thought it was a bit of a fad and wasn’t that beneficial. Now I would say, give it a try and see for yourselves.

There are claims that foam rolling can improve range of motion and flexibility – I am not sold on that, at all. Stretching has always been and will always be best for flexibility. But for tightness, there is some definitive relief. 

Although I’m not completely sold on the idea of foam rolling, I can see the benefits, I mean, not everyone can afford a weekly sports massage. This is probably the next best thing.

What do you guys think? Yay or nay.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

