WORKOUT! 40 minute legs and glutes

It’s been a whole week since I last worked out, eeesh! I’ve been sick with a cold and chesty cough. Today was my first day back and it had to be legs and glutes! Seriously, after only a week I’m pretty sure my butt is more squidgy than it should be…I need my muscle back asap. 

Leg day was awesome!

Here’s a 40 minute leg and glute workout to get you back in the game after time off…

DEADLIFTS – 3 sets of 8-10

(I decided to add an extra 20kg to what I was lifting before my rest, super pleased with how good it felt)

STIFF LEG DEADLIFTS – 3 sets of 12 

(Reduce the weight a little for these, I find that my grip is really poor if I do these straight after deadlifts, maybe it’s time for straps)

CABLE KICKBACKS – 3 sets of 12 

(Use a weight low enough to allow a pause when kicking back to squeeze and engage the glute but heavy enough that you can only manage around 12 reps)

CABLE LEG LIFTS – 3 sets of 8-12 

(This is a little extra exercise for the glutes on top of the kickbacks to tire out the muscle, they are like kickbacks only you keep your leg straight)

Tomorrow I am trying foam rolling for the first time. I’m curious if it will improve the ridiculous DOMS I get on the second day after leg day. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Does it work? 

Leave a Reply

