Body fat! How I’m lowering the percentage.

Back in October (2016), I got my stats measured at the gym.

I was super happy to discover that I’d managed to cut my body fat down to 19.8% – check out the blog I posted about it https://fitlifefocus.wordpress.com/2016/10/22/putting-the-high-fat-diet-to-the-test

Bulking Season 

Along came Winter. I ate more carbs than I should have and was doing less cardio. Also, I didn’t do any sort of lean bulk and found myself a completely addicted to sausage rolls and pringles. Fail!

I expected my body fat to increase a little bit, so back in February, I went and got it measured again.

I did not expect it to increase by 11%!!!

I went from 19.8 % to 30.5 % in 4 months!

25 days later….

I’ve cut 4.4% body fat in less than 4 weeks.

An important and interesting thing to note…my weight overall increased despite my body fat % being lower. 

It’s not about the number on the scale.

How I did it 

Snacks! I bought grapes, carrots, apples and celery to snack on inbetween meals.

These foods are really low in calories and although they are carbs, they make up are really small percentage of my daily macros. They fill me up inbetween meals and this prevents me from overeating at lunch and dinner. Plus, they have loads of nutrients.

Protein!

I ate a lot of meat! A tonne of eggs and had my usual protein shake.

When trying to cut body fat sometimes it makes it hard to put on or keep muscle mass so keeping my protein levels high is essential. I try to keep my protein macro at 35%

Fat!
I am drinking whole milk, eating real butter and adding cheese to most meals. In salads I add avocado.

I am on a high fat diet and it is amazing. I try to keep my fat macro at 40%. Fat doesn’t make you fat, carbs do! 

Only a small amount of good carbs.

I would add vegetables to my main meals maybe some occasional pasta or potatoes.

CHANGE YOUR WORKOUTS

Diet is the main thing that will improve body composition but you need to be active and gain more muscle. The more muscle you have, the more energy you burn.
I made a small change to my strength training and reduced my rest between sets to make my muscles work harder.

I also starting walking on one of my days off. And by walking I mean 15 miles! 

******************************** 
My next body fat check is in two weeks.

For now, I’m going to carry on focussing on my diet and workouts. Fun stuff! 

********************************

I’d love to hear any tips that you guys have for cutting body fat. Please comment below.

1 Comment

  1. I just followed your insta and blog. I like how your not afraid to post a fail (about the body fat). πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

