Fri-yay! 40 minute workout.

Oh Friday! Daily blog day 4.

It’s never too late in the day to get some sort of workout in. I worked out at 9pm!

Today was supposed to be leg day but since I missed a workout yesterday I did legs, shoulders and back.

Legs

  • Squats (3 sets of 12)

Again, like my previous leg day, I did a lower weight so that I could focus on my form and getting below parallel. I did 30kg/66lbs but I will probably move the weight up again in a week or so.

  • Stiff leg deadlifts (3 sets of 12)

I kept the weight at 30kg following my squats. I really need to watch myself with this exercise because I find it easy. I do too many reps or too heavy and then in two days time, my hamstrings are super sore (even to touch lightly). Know your limits!

Shoulders & Back

  • Wide grip lateral pulldowns (3 sets of 12)
  • Shoulder press (3 sets of 12)
  • Seated cable rows (3 sets of 12)
  • Front plate raises (3 sets of 12)

I did this same workout on Tuesday but I liked it so much! 

Tomorrow will be chest, arms and abs.

Question Time! How many of you focus on squatting below parallel? Do you find it better than sticking to the old school ‘squat to parallel’ rule? 

There is science to back up the added benefits of squatting below parallel but I love hearing different opinions. *future blog post idea*post

Leave a Reply

