Resistance band workouts

When I was thinking about quitting the gym, I was trying to come up with home workout ideas that would allow me to do some of my favourite gym exercises at home without having to spend a ton of money on machines.

In my opinion, one of the most versatile pieces of equipment in the gym is the cable machine. You can work out your whole body on this one machine. 

Favourite cable machine exercises…

  • Lateral pulldowns
  • Tricep pulldowns
  • Tricep overhead extensions
  • Glute kickbacks 
  • Bent over rows

I would have missed doing these exercises if I quit the gym. I started looking at resistance bands and realised that I could use wall anchors to attach the bands to the wall at various heights and hopefully be able to mimic the gyms cable machine.

So I quit the gym and the resistance bands have done the trick!


I would recommend the resistance bands from Bodylastics.

Resistance band pros…

  • Affordable
  • Versatile
  • Space saving
  • You can take them anywhere

I would never replace weights with resistance bands but by adding them to my workouts, I can do so much more varied exercises.

Resistance band/weight workouts
Here are a few sample workouts:

I will add, that even though I can do all of the same exercises that I did at the gym with the resistance bands, it doesn’t quite feel the same. But, they are an awesome alternative and I would 100% recommend them as part of any workout.


2 Comments

  1. This is a really great and creative way to get fit out of the gym! I really like how versatile the bands are! I have a set that I haven’t tried out yet, but I think that I will definitely incorporate them more into my workouts. If you don’t mind me asking, what made you think about quitting the gym?

    Like

    1. I quit the gym because it was ridiculously busy during peak times which is the only time I could go. I can’t get a good workout in when I’m waiting 10 minutes for a machine or if some dooshbag is hogging all the free weights πŸ˜‚

      Best decision ever. I’m now investing in my own equipment but resistance bands made all the difference.

      Like

Leave a Reply

