Fitness update

Hi everyone!

It’s actually been quite a while since my last blog post. And by a while, I mean over two months. Fail.

My last post explained how I was doing a high fat, low carb diet (not keto). I never got round to doing a follow up post.

Love the fat! 

I know we are continually seeing products that a low fat and are told the fat makes us fat. Blah blah blah.

I love eating a high fat diet!

I did it for around 2 months and I felt pretty good. My workouts were awesome and I was getting high amounts of protein in my diet too so I was seeing some excellent gains. I had energy, my digestive system was fully functional and I felt happy, it was awesome.

Carbs suck!

Why do carbs suck? Carbs make our insulin levels spike and become unstable. After the initial, short lived burst of energy, we end up feeling tired and any sugar ends up being stored as fat.

Don’t get me wrong, we do need carbohydrates in our diet. In my opinion, vegetables and fruit are the only carbs we really need.

The holiday season.

My high fat diet went out the window! I enjoyed eating all the carbs. 

Now, I am eating a so called ‘balanced’ diet and I am not okay.

The carbs have left me with zero energy. My workouts feel like so much effort. I just feel gloomy, like the weather.

Getting back on track!

I’ve just placed an order at http://www.musclefood.com and am going right back on my high fat diet.

Soon enough, I’ll know for sure if my gloominess is down to carbs. I will let you know. I expect my workouts to feel better within two weeks. Hurray!!!

I’ve also decided to add extra cardio into my weekly workouts. It’ll be a mood booster.

In other news…

I quit the gym! I’ve said before that my gym was super busy. Waiting around for gym equipment does not work for me and with it now being January, there will be so many additional people trying to get fit (definitely a good thing!), the gym will be packed out.

Working out at home is awesome and we have been working on making it feel like a real gym. In place of cable machines, we are using resistance bands attached to wall anchors and have just ordered a squat rack with olympic bar and plates instead of being restricted to a weight that can be lifted overhead. It’s a work in progress but I can’t wait until it is finished. 

Thanks for reading and following. I won’t leave it so long next time.

Happy New Year!

2 Comments

  1. I am soooo struggling with this getting back on track with lchf, come back from the holidays has really knocked me off my game. I enjoy reading your post and tips though! Hopefully I’ll keep on track this time 😊

    Like

    1. I struggled too! It feels good to be back on it though. I think it’s good to have a break, it makes us realise why we’re doing this πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

      Like

Leave a Reply

