A week of macros on a high fat diet: progress report!

As most of you know (if you’ve read my previous posts), I recently embarked on a high fat diet. I had no energy, my hormones were messed up and carbs were making me bloated. I just felt yucky.

I have found it hard to adjust, the food that most people see as high fat like ice cream, chocolate etc are actually really high in carbs because of the amount of sugar they contain. Even most yogurts contain a large amount of carbohydrates and the majority of them are ‘low fat’.

My key foods now are:

  • Eggs
  • Cheese
  • Ground Beef
  • Burgers
  • Red meat
  • Vegetables that grow above ground
  • Whole milk
  • Butter (the real stuff)
  • Peanut butter
  • Double cream and fruit (for a treat)

I’ve been doing a lot of reading about high fat foods and over the next few weeks I’m going to try some more recipes. I also plan on adding Avocado and nuts to my diet since they are both sources of good fat.

Fat is higher in calories than carbohydrate so trying to stay within my maintenence calorie intake has been harder than I thought.

There have been some days when I’ve eaten 500 extra calories.

Despite this, I weigh exactly the same as when I started which was really surprising. I am convinced that had those 500 calories been from carbs, I’d have put the weight on (that’s just my opinion)

Here are my macros for the past week:

As you can see, I definitely had an off day. I always manage to hit my fat ratio but I am not getting enough protein which is something I desperately need to work on, especially since I’ve still been weight training.

I was really concerned about doing this diet incase it effected my workouts. So far, it hasn’t made a difference which is excellent. I have only been doing this diet for 3 weeks though.

A couple of days ago, I got my body fat percentage measured and I was pretty impressed with myself.

I am going to keep an eye on this, I am curious how this number will change as I continue eating a high fat diet.

As hard as it has been the past few weeks, tring to adjust and figuring out what I can and can’t eat, I feel better.

I do not feel bloated at all! My energy levels have not gone down but it also has not improved significantly. I have noticed that I am sleeping much better, I don’t tend to wake up as much as usual when the light starts peaking through in the morning.

My view is, it has only been 3 weeks. Let’s see what happens.

My goal now, is to try to increase my protein without adding an extra protein shake so any tips would be awesome.

Thanks for all your advice and support so far. I really appreciate it. 

3 Comments

  1. You’re definitely trying to get a lot of protein so it’s tough. Since you’re not going full ketogenic, you might get enough fat just from doing fatty cuts of meat without any additional fat sources. But a tasty alternative I like for a more concentrated dose of protein is jerky. Pork jerky tends to be a little less salty than beef and turkey though there are some many options you’ll just have to try them out. And I do my protein shakes with soy milk and chia seeds for some extra protein there.

    Hope some of that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far, so good. It’s been much better for me because a lot of different carbs have a negative effect on my digestive system. I’ve just made sure to get enough vegetables to prevent any issues

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

