The Open University – Studying Sports Science

When I first started working out, I didn’t realise just how important it would become to me. It is now a huge part of my life. In fact, my life pretty much revolves around lifting weights and eating right. It has helped me fight depression and has put me in the best shape I’ve ever been in.

I have been studying with the Open University for a number of years. For those of you who are not from the UK or who have not heard of the OU, it is a real university that encourages distance learning. It provides all of the same degrees as any other University in the world but you can study part time, at home and you can also take a little extra time to complete your degree.

It is perfect for someone like me, who works full time and wouldn’t be able to afford to quit my job to study full time at a conventional university.
Check it out: http://www.open.ac.uk

After doing science modules and then financial accounting, I found myself wanting to do something that I was passionate about. I changed my whole degree! Last year I decided to do a Bachelors of Science degree in Sports, Fitness & Coaching.

I passed the first year back in July and somehow passed my final assignment by doing a case study on Arnold Schwarzenegger, I love him even more now! 

Anyway, I am now in my second year and am learning about strength training and conditioning. Bones, muscles, the nervous system and how our body moves. 

I think it would be super cool to incorporate what I am learning into my blog. Not only will it be educational but it’ll help me to learn and pass this year. It would also be awesome to get feedback on my course content because I can add different opinions into my essays.

I am so excited about my current module because I will be able to adjust my workouts based on what I’m learning and I’ll be able to tell you guys all about it!

Get in touch if you have also studied towards a fitness qualification. I would love to know what you gained from it and what it led to…

Leave a Reply

