When Motivation Dies – this week’s workouts.

My motivation disappeared this week! It happens every now and then. Usually when I’ve been having a good time of it and it gets interrupted. 

My workouts and my diet had been tip top up until I got sick the week before last. Once I had recovered from my illness I told myself, get back on it!

I tried! But felt lazy, what more can I say. My diet has been good but for someone who would usually workout 6 (often 7) days a week, working out just 4 days has made me a little annoyed with myself.

MONDAY – My best day!

  • Shoulder Press
  • Side Flyes
  • Front Flyes
  • Bent Over Flyes
  • Upright Barbell Row
  • Bent Over Unilateral DB Row
  • Bent Over Barbell Row
  • Bent Over Underhand BB Row
  • Goodmornings

3 Sets of each, getting between 8 and 12 reps in.

This workout was awesome! Afterall, never miss a Monday!

Wednesday – Leg Day! 

  • Dumbbell Squats
  • Goblet Squats
  • Curtsie Lunges
  • Side Lunges
  • Kickbacks
  • Bridges
  • Calf Raises 

I went lighter than usual because legs hadn’t been trained for about 2 weeks. I know, shameful! 

So I did 4 sets of 20 at a lighter weight.

I felt like this was a bad workout but 24 hours later DOMS set in and lasted for 3 days so it clearly worked my legs enough. The stairs were a real issue! πŸ˜₯πŸ˜†

Thursday – Interesting!

Barre Workout.

A friend recommended the Barre workouts. They are a mix between yoga, pilates and ballet, I guess. Unfortunately, I had to download one because I can’t stream youtube in my gym because the wifi just won’t stretch enough. 

The one I downloaded was awful, 40 minutes of boredom. It also hurt having to stay in squat position for over a minute with my DOMS. I was not impressed. I will be trying the one I was originally shown, that actually looked a lot of fun.

Here’s the link to the good one: 

https://youtu.be/DdYxUU7FQqs

Saturday – The ‘but I really should workout’ workout.

  • Bicep Curls
  • Dips
  • Concentration Curls
  • Tricep Extensions
  • Hammer Curls
  • Tricep Kickbacks

3 Sets of 15 to 25 (I went light!)

I did not feel like working out at all, it got to around 8.30 pm and I finally decided to get it done. I’m so glad I did because despite going super light with high reps, it was an awesome workout. I feel good for it today.

Sunday (Today)

Today, I’m going to repeat Wednesdays leg workout. I’m looking forward to it. I may have regained my motivation after a lousy couple of weeks.

Moral Of The Story

Even when you don’t feel like working out, just do it! You’ll feel better for it.

Saying that, it’s perfectly okay to have those weeks where you don’t feel quite as motivated, that’s life. And if you’re dedicated, you know your motivation will come back. When it becomes your lifestyle rather than a chore, it never goes away completely.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

